Here We Go Again

A Series of Unfortunate Events

Well the past few weeks has been rough. Here are some notable events:

5/27: My 92-year-old grandma fell down and was too weak to get back up. She crawled to the phone to call my mom for help. She had been losing weight and energy as she suffers from stomach pain due to stomach cancer, which was recently diagnosed. She was taken to the hospital.

Later in the night, I got into a huge argument with Max, after which I initiated a break-up. We were supposed to go to a party the next day, so we decided to stay at the hotel and share a bed still. Neither of us wanted to go, but Max also rarely sees his friends, so we felt like we should attend anyway.

5/28: My sister, who was watching my cat, Dogmeat, called me to notify me Dogmeat was acting weird. He threw up and had defecated in the kitchen. He constantly squatted everywhere to try to release, but nothing was coming out.

Max and I drove 2 hours back to take him to the vet. Fortunately, this was a good and valid excuse to not attend the party. Turned out it was a urinary obstruction, which is dire. My poor baby would have died if we didn't take him in time. Vet bill was $3500, but I'd drain my bank account for that cat. Both my cat and grandma were in the hospital at this point.

Max and I agreed to try couples counseling since the break-up occurred during a very stressful situation where we were both frustrated. So we were broken up for less than a day.

We actually canceled it after another argument that night. He kicked me out to the couch and wanted me to leave the apartment. I had plans to stay with my sister, but we talked it out and I returned to bed.

5/29: Dogmeat was expected to go home the next day, but he pulled out his own catheter. Instead of putting another one in, the vet monitored him to make sure he was urinating by himself, which he was. As a result, he was able to come home early (and saved me a couple hundred dollars as a result. Good boy.)

6/7: Max's grandpa died, so he took early leave from work. He was actually taking it very well. His grandpa requested there be no memorial nor funeral.

6/8: My grandma came home from the hospital. Her stay was rough, and now she's very tired.


That about sums it up. I know I haven't been writing in this blog as often as I planned to. I kind of expected that to happen. Life feels like such a mess right now.