Here We Go Again

Adderall - Day 8

So I've taken Adderall XR for over a week now. Here is an overview of my experience so far.

Thurs, Jun 22

10mg XR. First day of Adderall. Wasn't sure it was working, but I got a lot of work done that day. Could have just been flow as I get that sometimes when I'm enjoying work.

Side effects: Dry mouth, constipation, insomnia

Tues, Jun 27

Upped my dose to 20mg XR. I was super unfocused and distracted the previous Friday and during the weekend, so my doctor recommended a more normal dose of 20mg XR.

Side effects: insomnia (tense, unable to relax), faster heartbeat, no appetite

Thurs, Jun 29

20mg XR. Could not sleep until 1 AM the previous night, which isn't uncommon for me with or without Adderall. Took it at 6 AM this day, hoping to feel tired by nighttime. Did not take it with food as I don't like breakfast, which may have been a mistake.

Alert the entire day. Got a lot of work done. Still awake even after 9 PM. Took melatonin to help me feel tired, which worked. Fell asleep shortly after 10 PM after watching a show with Max.

Woke up to my dog barking because Jess unexpectedly visited at 11:30 PM. Went back to sleep sometime after midnight.

Fri, Jun 30 (today)

10mg XR. Only took one pill today because I was so tired and didn't want to feel too awake. Just wanted to relax. Did not take with food.

As a result, I'm very unfocused and distracted at work today, hence why I'm on my phone typing this out instead. I feel tired and want to take a nap, but I won't.


Reflection

It seems like 10mg XR is too little and 20mg XR may be too much. I wonder if I could find a happy middle of 15mg. It's also possible that not eating much on 20mg has also affected my reaction.

My doctor said it was okay to skip weekends or only take the pills as needed, so I think I'll skip tomorrow and see how I feel.

My next workday is Sunday as I'll be covering someone else's shift. I'll try 20mg and make sure to eat a full healthy breakfast with it that day.