Here We Go Again

Dogmeat's Urinary Blockage Recovery

It's been approximately 2 weeks since my cat, Dogmeat, came back from the hospital after a urinary blockage.

He seems mostly fine, but I can't help but worry he might get another one in the future. Reoccurence is unfortunately common.

He still visits the litter box frequently with small amounts of urine, but definitely a lot less often than when he first returned home. I noticed he'd been urinating rather forcibly. There's pee, so at least we know he isn't blocked, but the urine he leaves now is more of a stream than a puddle. And he doesn't bother to cover it anymore. I'm hoping he's still just recovering and this won't be a permanent thing.

I ordered some pH strips to check his urine levels. An ideal pH for cat urine is something like 6.0-6.4, according to the internet. The pH strip I tested on Dogmeat's urine appeared to show slightly more acidic levels.

I'm assuming the prescription diet (Hill's C/D) he was given is supposed to balance this; however, it looks like it takes an average of 27 days for the crystals to fully dissolve, so I'll keep on waiting and checking.

Last concern is I've noticed he keeps twitching his genitals? Are they urethra spasms? I need to remember to bring this up on his next vet visit if it doesn't subside.

Anyway, I just wanted to write this all down in case I need to refer back to his progress in the future. He's always been an affectionate kitty, but he seems even more so than usual after he came back.

I love him so much. I hope he'll be okay.