Here We Go Again

On the 4th Day of Poochina

My true love gave to me
A headache when she ran free!

Today is the fourth day since we've brought our new dog, Poochina, home. What a ride!

She's mostly been sleeping in her bed since we got her. I'm not complaining. It's super cute to wake up from a nap and see that all three of us (me, her, and Dogmeat the cat) had been sleeping.

She's generally well-behaved and quiet, but she's extremely reactive. She barks at anyone who walks by the window, at door knocks, at other dogs, and at my poor sister when I made the mistake of letting her visit while Pooch hasn't adjusted yet.

This morning, Poochina ran off at the end of her walk when Max unhooked her, thinking she'd enter the apartment like she normally does. He phoned me while I was sleeping, sounding completely out of breath. I stepped outside the apartment onto the porch, looked to the left, then turned to the right, and a moment later she showed up! She's safely back inside now, but what a scare! Definitely learned our lesson. Don't unhook her until after the door closes behind us.

I started to teach her how to sit today, and she's doing really well! She's a smart pooch. :)