Here We Go Again

Update on Dad

I forgot to update this yesterday.

I just spoke to my dad on the phone and he's currently still in the hospital. He doesn't seem to know when he'll be able to leave. He sounded very tired and bored, but at least he seemed fine.

My parents own a small Mom n' Pop donut business and my dad is the main baker, so they've been closed since he's been in the hospital. They've owned the place for over 30 years and are open 7 days a week. Getting them to close shop just for a day is nearly impossible, but now they're forced to close as business is inoperable without Dad. My mom must be worried about finances right now.

Despite the circumstances, a part of me is relieved they have a break from working for a bit. They work way too much, and I hate that it takes a medical issue to keep them away from working. I'm willing to bet my dad will want to jump right back into working once he's out.

My parents have wanted to sell the shop for a few years now; maybe it's time they finally do. I'm not going to lie, I'm going to miss our little donut shop. It was a huge part of my family's lives, but it looks like it's time to call it quits soon. Unless my parents decide to hire someone to help run the shop, which they refuse to do, their health issues aren't going to help with keeping the shop running forever.

Anyway, I hope my dad is able to leave the hospital soon. I should call my mom and make sure she's okay, too.